Newbery Project

The Newbery Medal was awarded to children's books looong before I started reading...but somehow I missed a number of Newbery Medal-winning books.  How does that happen?  No matter.  I plan to read them ALL (and in the case of several winners, the rest of the series as well).

2008 Honor book:  The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt
2004 Medal winner:  The Tale of Despereaux:  Being the Tale of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo 
1996 Medal winner:  The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman
1994 Medal winner:  The Giver by Lois Lowry (no review at present)
1984 Medal winner:  Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary
1980 Medal winner:  A Gathering of Days by Joan W. Blos
1979 Medal winner:  The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
1968 Medal winner:  From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
1966 Medal winner:  I, Juan de Pareja by Elizabeth Borton de Trevino
1963 Medal winner:  A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle (no review at present)
1955 Medal winner:  The Wheel on the School by Meindert DeJong
1953 Medal winner:  Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark
1942 Medal winner:  The Matchlock Gun by Walter Edmonds
1936 Medal winner:  Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink
1923 Medal winner:  The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle by Hugh Lofting (no blog post due to flood of 2008 but I will briefly mention that the jingoistic, racist, and misogynistic tone was a bit much)
1922 Medal winner:  The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon (posts here, here, here, and here)